To apply for the Music Therapist License please click here.
The following outlines general license information.
A. Application Fee:
License Fee Origination: $50.00
North Dakota has a 2-year licensing cycle that expires December 31st in each odd numbered year. First time applicants must pay a $100 licensing fee, prorated for the licensing cycle, plus a one-time $50 application fee.
B. Education Requirements:
Completion of an approved AMTA accredited music therapy program, which requires, at a minimum, a 4-year, full time program of academic and clinical study plus a six-month full time clinical internship at an approved internship site.
C. Examination Information:
All applicants must pass the music therapy board certification exam before submitting a license application. North Dakota does not administer the board certification exam; applicants should take it wherever possible. Information about the board certification exam is available from the Certification Board for Music Therapists.
Applicants holding a professional designation from the national music therapy registry (RMT-registered music therapist; CMT-certified music therapist; ACMT-advanced certified music therapist) must submit a photocopy of the professional designation granted by the national music therapy registry. The copy must include the type of designation and designation number.
D. Continuing Education Requirements:
As of January 1st, 2012 North Dakota requires that music therapists maintain forty total CMTE credits per biennial licensing cycle. It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep abreast of any changes and updates to North Dakota State laws and licensing requirements. Credits must meet ND BIHC approval. Examples include credits offered through the Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT), CBMT approved providers, approved continuing education providers from related fields (counseling, psychology, social work, etc.), and courses offered through accredited Universities and Colleges. Compliance is verified by random audit.
E. License Renewal:
The license renewal fee is $100. Licenses must be renewed by December 31st, of the odd numbered year. A license that has not been renewed by December 31st in an odd-numbered year is a lapsed license and requires a license renewal application, a new completed application form, the renewal fee, plus a late fee of $75. Proof of appropriate continuing education hours must be presented.
Once a license has lapsed, the person who held the lapsed license may not practice music therapy or use a title reserved under state law for individuals who are licensed by the board until a new license is issued. A person whose license has lapsed but who continues to practice music therapy or use a restricted title violates state law. Such a violation is grounds for denying an application by the former licensee for renewal of the lapsed license or for a new license.
Still have questions? We would be happy to assist. Fill out the form below and we will be in touch as soon as possible.