To apply for the Licensed Acupuncturist License please click here.
The following outlines general license information.
A. Application Fee:
License Fee Origination: $50.00
North Dakota has a 2-year licensing cycle that expires December 31st in each even numbered year. First time applicants must pay a $300 licensing fee, prorated for the licensing cycle, plus a one-time $50 application fee.
B. Education Requirements:
Completion of an approved accredited acupuncture program, which requires, at a minimum, a 4-year, full time program of academic and clinical study plus a six-month full time clinical internship at an approved internship site.
C. Examination Information:
All applicants must pass the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) board certification exams before submitting a license application. North Dakota does not administer the board certification exam; applicants should take it wherever possible. Information about the board certification exam is available from the NCCAOM.
Applicants holding a professional designation from the NCCAOM (Dipl. Ac. – Diplomate of acupuncture; Dipl. OM – Diplomate of Oriental Medicine) must submit a photocopy of the professional designation granted by the NCCAOM. The copy must include the type of designation and designation number.
D. Continuing Education Requirements:
As of January 1st, 2016 North Dakota requires that licensed acupuncturists maintain 30 total NCCAOM credits per biennial licensing cycle. It is the licensee’s responsibility to keep abreast of any changes and updates to North Dakota State laws and licensing requirements. Credits must meet ND BIHC approval. Examples include credits offered through the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM), NCCAOM approved providers, and approved continuing education providers from related fields counseling, psychology, social work, etc., and courses offered through accredited Universities and Colleges. Compliance is verified by random audit.
E. License Renewal:
The license renewal fee is $300. Licenses must be renewed by December 31st, of the even numbered year. A license that has not been renewed by December 31st in an even-numbered year is a lapsed license and requires a license renewal application, a new completed application form, the renewal fee, plus a late fee of $75. Proof of appropriate continuing education hours must be presented.
Once a license has lapsed, the person who held the lapsed license may not practice acupuncture or use a title reserved under state law for individuals who are licensed by the board until a new license is issued. A person whose license has lapsed but who continues to practice acupuncture or use a restricted title violates state law. Such a violation is grounds for denying an application by the former licensee for renewal of the lapsed license or for a new license.
F. License by Endorsement:
If you are currently licensed by another state, you may choose the license by endorsement process to expedite your North Dakota license. This process does not apply to new graduates or those applicants that have never been licensed. The application and fee, license origination fee, and state license verification document must all be submitted to the board. The application and the license verification documents are provided here for your convenience.
Still have questions? We would be happy to assist. Fill out the form below and we will be in touch as soon as possible.